What Is Extreme DUI in Arizona?

Not all DUI charges are the same. If you’ve been arrested on suspicion of impaired driving, it’s important to understand the charges that have been made against you. There are five common types of DUI in Arizona: 

  • Underage DUI
  • Standard DUI
  • Extreme DUI
  • Super Extreme DUI
  • Aggravated DUI

For a breakdown of each of these DUI charges, see our Arizona DUI Laws FAQs page. Extreme DUI in Arizona (along with super extreme DUI) is second only to aggravated DUI in criminal severity.

Free Case Evaluation

What Does “Extreme DUI” Mean?

The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level in Arizona is 0.08. If your BAC is found to be greater than 0.15 within two hours of the time you were first stopped by law enforcement, you may be charged with what is called an extreme DUI. BAC may be determined through various chemical tests, including a breathalyzer, blood, or urine test.

What Are the Penalties for Extreme DUI in Arizona?

Extreme DUI is a class 1 misdemeanor. The criminal penalties for an extreme DUI conviction can be extensive, even for a first time offense. They may include:

  • Minimum 30 days in jail (maximum six months)
  • 90-day suspension of driving privileges
  • Court fines and fees totaling $2,500+
  • Substance abuse counseling
  • Community service
  • 12-month installation of an ignition interlock device
  • SR-22 “High Risk” Insurance Policy

What Is a Super Extreme DUI?

You can be charged with super extreme DUI in Arizona if your BAC registers at 0.20 or greater within two hours of being in control of a vehicle. Like extreme DUIs, super extreme DUIs are a class 1 misdemeanor. 

What Are the Penalties for Super Extreme DUI in Arizona?

The possible penalties for a first super extreme DUI conviction are similar to an extreme DUI conviction, with the exception of a minimum of 45 days in jail and court fines and fees totaling $3,000 or more. A Phoenix DUI attorney may be able to negotiate these penalties down or have the charges dismissed altogether.

extreme DUI in Arizona

What If This Is My Second (Or Third) Offense? 

If you are arrested, charged, and convicted of a second extreme DUI within seven years, you face similar but heightened penalties, including a minimum of 120 days in jail, a one-year revocation of your driver’s license, court costs of at least $3,000, and a mandatory ignition interlock device for 18 months.

For a second super extreme DUI within seven years, you’ll spend a minimum of 180 days in jail, have you license revoked for one year, pay at least $3,500 in fines and fees, and must install an ignition interlock device for at least two years after your license is reinstated.

For any third DUI within seven years, you’ll like be charged with aggravated DUI, which is a class 4 felony. You’ll also lose any professional licenses, your right to vote, and your right to possess a firearm, in addition to facing at least four months in prison.

What Can I Do If I’m Charged With Extreme DUI in Arizona?

Whether you are facing your first, second, or a subsequent DUI charge, Lerner and Rowe Law Group is here to help. Our experienced criminal defense lawyers have helped thousands of clients get their DUI charges dismissed or reduced

Call us today at one of the numbers listed below to schedule a free consultation. You can also chat online with a live representative, or submit the details of your case using our secure and confidential contact form. We offer affordable payment plans.