Chandler DUI Lawyers
Chandler DUI lawyers from a reputable criminal defense law firm may be able to help reduce your DUI charges, or even have them dismissed completely. Call Lerner and Rowe Law Group today for a free consultation. You can reach us 24/7 at 602-667-7777 through our LiveChat feature, or by filling out this online form.
DUI Charges in Chandler, Arizona
Our knowledgeable criminal defense team includes a board certified specialist in criminal law. Among us, we have over 70 years of combined experience representing clients facing a variety of DUI criminal charges.
Misdemeanor DUI Charges
According to Arizona DUI laws, you might be charged with a misdemeanor DUI if found operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.
That charge may change to a misdemeanor extreme DUI if your blood alcohol level (BAC) was above 0.15%. A misdemeanor super extreme DUI indicates a BAC above 0.20%.
Arizona also has very strict underage drinking and driving laws. Thus, a court may impose an underage DUI upon you if under the age of twenty-one, with any amount of alcohol or drugs in your system. This rule extends within two hours of operating a vehicle.
Felony DUI Charges
A misdemeanor DUI charge may turn into a felony DUI charge if the prosecution can prove certain aggravating factors in the case. For instance, charged with a DUI during a period of license suspension, your charges may elevate to a felony. Likewise, your charges may include a felony if a court already revoked your license for another charge, and the DUI occurred during this period.
Also, if you were convicted of at least two DUIs in the last seven years, your next DUI may be considered a felony. Finally, if a child was with you while you drove, and that child was under fifteen years old, your charges may rise to the level of felony. Any one of these situations is known as a felony aggravated DUI.
Penalties for DUI Charges
What might your DUI charges mean for your future? Of course, penalties worsen accordingly with your level of DUI charges. For instance:
- A first offense misdemeanor DUI may mean around ten days in jail, without probation. You might have to go without a driver’s license for ninety days, and must use an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for a year. You may also have to pay fines over two thousand dollars.
If you cooperate, and do a court ordered drug and alcohol screening, you can request a restricted permit which allows for a person to drive for limited purposes for the final 60 days of the 90 day suspension. However, being without a driver’s license for any period of time can take a toll on your life, as getting to work and making appointments may become very difficult without a car. With the help of Chandler Arizona DUI lawyers, we can argue to have any DUI charges reduced or dropped.
- For an extreme DUI in Chandler, your fines may exceed $2,000, and reach up to $3,000. Fortunately, with the help of a criminal defense lawyer representing you, there are ways to have the fees reduced.
- In the case of super extreme DUIs, potential jail time extends to at least forty-five days. Your fines might be in excess of $3,000. And, the ignition interlock device might need to be in place for eighteen months, instead of a year.
- A felony DUI charge will lead to at least four months in jail (for a class 4 felony) and one year of lost driving privileges. And, you’ll have to find some way to pay over $3,750 in fines, without a mode of transportation and while spending a third of the year in jail.
With second, third, and fourth offenses, these charges only escalate. And, along with the charges, you’ll suffer a disruption in your day-to-day life. At Lerner and Rowe Law Group, we offer affordable criminal defense and flexible payment plans. That way, not only will you get experienced legal defense at an affordable rate, but you also won’t later be faced with immediate legal fees.
Find Chandler, Arizona DUI Lawyers Near You
DUI arrests happen often in Chandler, AZ. If you are among those currently facing a DUI charge, it’s important that you know key deadlines so that you don’t miss them and cause yourself additional legal issues. For instance you have to request an MVD hearing within 15 days to appeal any loss of your license. You will also need to visit the Chandler criminal court (200 E Chicago St, Chandler, AZ) to get your charges reduced. Don’t miss out! Contact us as soon as possible to help ensure that your rights are protected within the fullest extent of the law. You don’t have to go it alone—contact award-winning Chandler DUI lawyers today at Lerner and Rowe Law Group today.